Home > Writing > It’s Five in the Morning…

It’s Five in the Morning…

alarm clock, bought from IKEA

(Photo credit: Wikipedia, Public Domain)

So it’s five o’clock in the morning…

…making this nearly six o’clock alarm to the left look very appealing!

The coffee is on. A mug sits steaming beside me, the steam peeking up over the edge of the mug, seeking to confirm that I really am sitting here on the couch at this unprecedented hour. Coffee fed intravenously would probably be more effective at this point.

I reassure the steam from my coffee that it really is me sitting here, but only because I’m in an experiment to see how well creativity flows at such an early hour. I’m a six o’clock and not a minute before girl.

Still, I’m up for a challenge and the challenge has been given. Actually, the challenge was to wake up two hours earlier and write, but waking up at four would leave me in an undesirable state to be around for a good part of the day. Not a good idea.

Compromise was inevitable. I know creativity can flow in the evening, and considered being a non-conformist, staying up later rather than waking up earlier. That’s worked for me in the past. I wrote an entire novel in the late evening when our children were small. Granted, when they were small they went to bed early, my hubby went to bed early, and I had a quiet house all to myself—minus the distractions of the day.

Fast forward many years. My children are no longer small. These young adult men that now tower over me don’t go to bed early. Quiet, distraction-free evenings no longer exist. Going to bed around eleven means I’m the first one to bed.

Mornings may be the answer. Mornings fall into the distraction-free time zone. Yet the question remains: Can I get creativity to flow before six in the morning? 

I’m willing to try. Willing to experiment. My compromise is that I’m waking one hour earlier to see if this is even profitable for me.

I’ve survived several days of the experiment, but survived is the operative word. I figure to prove or disprove it, I should give it a few weeks, so I’ll stick it out for a while longer before giving an opinion. I’ll check in at a later date and let you know if early morning works for me—or if I’ve decided to be a nonconformist and work out a different approach!

How about you? When do you write? And why? What works for you? Let me know in the comment section!

Related articles:


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a pastor’s wife, former missionary, mother of four great sons, and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) I have a passion for God, my family, and writing! Follow me on Twitter and Facebook.

Have a question? Email Me!

  1. Zen
    June 12, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Oh wow. 4 a.m. is way too early for me to get up and write. Now… I can stay up till four writing, but to actually go to sleep and get back up… I can never do that. I’d be way too tired, with or without coffee! Though I’ll say that I usually prefer to write at night; I feel more creative then. =]

    • June 12, 2012 at 6:32 am

      I may end up agreeing with you, but the morning idea is worth a try to see if it’s easier to be consistent with less interruptions in the schedule. I mean, what else can take place at 5 a.m.? 🙂

  2. June 12, 2012 at 7:58 am

    I am a morning person, have been for years and years. If I get up past 5 a.m., I feel like I have slept in. But then I’m toast by dinner time! I am much more on my game in the morning. But it’s fun to experiment. Good luck, and good writing, to you!

    • June 12, 2012 at 8:38 am

      I think I’m a hybrid. I usually wake up quite easily around 6 a.m., rarely sleep past 7 a.m., but I’m not usually ready for bed until close to 11 p.m.! So yes. An experiment. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

