Home > Blogging, Social Media > Fractured to Full

Fractured to Full

Most people have no idea of the giant capacity we can immediately command when we focus all of our resources on mastering a single area of our lives.

                                                        — Tony Robbins

My sister posted this quote. My response went like this:

“And when does this illusive day come when I can focus all of my resources on mastering a single area of my life?”

The concept itself? I agreed with it. Wholeheartedly.

If I could take all my energy, all my resources, and focus them on one area? I could see how mastery could come.

But that’s not life. At least not my life. (And I’ve a sneaky suspicion that it’s not yours either!)

Picnic plate full of assorted food.

Image via Wikipedia (Public Domain)

There are too many things on my plate. Too many areas over which to scatter my limited resources and energy. It is all too fractured.

The areas of responsibility seem to increase; my energy seems to decrease. (You’re relating to this, right? Please confirm that I am not alone in this!)

But back to my sister and the quote. My sister can be quite wise. That’s a good thing. Of course, maybe I shouldn’t admit that too loudly or I may never hear the end of it. Hmm…. Is posting it on a blog too loud?

She also has no problem disagreeing with me. And that is also a good thing! She was ready to challenge my thinking on this quote. We all need that. To have our thinking challenged. I had to rethink how I viewed the quote.

Pie chart of Campania's area Italiano: Grafico...

Pie chart (Photo credit: Wikipedia) Public Domain

Our lives are complex with many parts that make up the whole. Multiple responsibilities that reach for our time and energy do not mean we are living fractured lives. We can view the fractured areas as parts of a whole.

Our lives would be imbalanced if all of our resources, all of the time, were focused on one single area. Other things would suffer. Other things would fail. But one thing at a time? That works!

At any given time, we can funnel our energy and resources into one area of our lives, thus achieving mastery over the long haul in a given area.

Maybe it’s blogging. Maybe you want to master the art of blogging. You know you can’t give up your job to do it. You can’t sacrifice each evening that you would normally devote to your family. You can’t stop sleeping. But you want to master blogging. Or maybe it’s playing the piano—or running a marathon.

Then do it. But in increments. Devote time to it. Designate it a place in your schedule. If you can’t do it daily, at least do it consistently. But recognize and accept the limitations of time and space. 

When you’re doing it, give yourself wholeheartedly to it. Pour your resources, your energy, and your very being into it. Be focused.

It’s not about living half-hearted, fractured lives. It’s about living life to its fullest every day—in each distinct area of our lives. It’s about taking what may appear fractured—and making it a viable part of the whole.

QUESTIONS: How do you master each area of your life? How do you make it work? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comment section!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a pastor’s wife, former missionary, mother of four great sons, and author of three books: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) I have a passion for God, my family, and writing! Follow me on Twitter and Facebook.

Have a question? Email Me!

  1. karenselliott
    March 21, 2012 at 8:30 am

    At times, I seem to have everything mastered or under control and then somebody throws a wrench into it! 🙂 Instead of working harder, I’m trying to work smarter. Not beat my head against a wall because I can’t get to everything on my to do list (and not putting so much on the to do list in the first place!). And when I’m feeling overwhelmed, I don’t keep banging away, I step away and relax.

    • March 21, 2012 at 10:40 am

      Thanks for the input, Karen. Those wrenches! They can be a challenge. 🙂 I like what you said about working smarter, not harder. So true.
      In one time management book I read, they spoke about getting it on paper, on your to do list, so it’s off your mind. Then trust your to do list to guide you rather than getting overwhelmed. There’s only so much a mind can retain.
      Stepping back and relaxing? A great idea! 🙂

  2. March 21, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Life is full of different responsibilities, and I think any person that decides to focus on only one aspect will not only drive him/herself crazy but also become too single-minded to truly master what they’re setting out to do. Life is all about balancing. As you say, do it in increments, learn time-management, and enjoy life. That’s the biggest message! Never take it for granted. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

