Home > WordPress Tips > 4 Quick Steps to Removing the WordPress Comment Box

4 Quick Steps to Removing the WordPress Comment Box

Usually when one has a blog, one hopes that people will make comments. It’s a nice affirmation that someone is actually reading your blog—and hopefully liking it too!

However, there may be times when you prefer NOT to have a Comment Box on a blog. For me, this moment came while working on a simpler solution for church Websites. I wanted something user-friendly, something that, once set up, could be updated without the need to understand HTML or CSS. WordPress.com looked very promising!

The problem was that the Comment Box on the individual pages gave it a very bloggish look, while I was after more of Website look. It gave it an amateurish look, which was definitely not the look I was going for. There is, thankfully, a quick and simply way to remove the Comment Box from the individual pages. Here’s how!

1. Go to the Dashboard, then click on PAGES in the left-hand column.

2. Click on QUICK EDIT under the name of the page for which you wish to remove the comment box.

3. Remove the check-mark from the ALLOW COMMENTS checkbox in the right-hand column under QUICK EDIT.

4. Click the UPDATE button.

Congratulations! Now you can go to that page and see that the Comment Box is no longer there. You may repeat the process for each individual page where you do not want a Comment Box.

  1. August 20, 2011 at 1:58 am

    Thanks!

  2. August 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Thank you to sharing helpful information

  3. September 2, 2011 at 12:42 am

    Exactly what I was looking for, thanks for sharing.

  4. September 11, 2011 at 6:48 am

    thanks for the article, just trying to start my 1st WP today 🙂

    • September 11, 2011 at 6:53 am

      Have fun with your new WordPress blog!

  5. KN
    June 9, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Great help! I unchecked the Allow Comments box and no longer saw the Comment tabs. However there are still a horizontal line and a shading area beneath it. They look like some remnants left from the Comment tabs. I’d appreciate it if you can tell me how to get rid of those remnants. Thanks,

    • June 11, 2012 at 6:27 am

      Sorry I couldn’t get back to you earlier. I haven’t experienced that issue. Has the horizontal line and shading beneath it disappeared on its own? I only ask because sometimes computers just “mess” with us—and if we leave it and come back later we often find the glitches have disappeared. If they haven’t, and your blog is live, could you give me the link so I can see it?

  6. KN
    June 11, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Thanks a lot for your reply. Here is the link to my blog, https://talkthingsout.wordpress.com/. You’ll see the “leftover” on the pages where the Comment tabs are not shown such as “Home”, “Virtual Meetup”, “Contact Us”. I tried to get around this by coding ” ” at the end of the HTML codes to push the “leftover” down to the end of the page.

    • June 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      Thanks for giving me the link. I looked at it, then went back to look at three blogs I’ve made into websites for churches. That was actually why I looked for a way to get rid of the comment boxes. Of the three, one has what you’re talking about. It has a fading out line. The link for that one is: http://www.sbcauburn.com The other two have NO fading line whatsoever. The links for those are: http://www.fbcskan.com and http://hillparkbc.wordpress.com

      Glancing at the code, I don’t think it’s so much connected to the comment boxes, but to the theme design of the blog itself. Any thoughts on that? Wish I had a better answer for you. Anyone else reading this know that there is a way to correct this? Please speak up! 🙂

      • KN
        June 12, 2012 at 11:04 am

        Very nice blogs you created for churches!
        Thanks a lot for your help! I’ll try some other themes for my blog! 🙂

      • June 12, 2012 at 11:48 am

        Thanks! Hopefully you’ll find a theme that does all you want. 🙂

  1. August 11, 2011 at 6:44 am
  2. September 15, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

