Home > Facebook Page, Social Media > What Is a Facebook Welcome Page?

What Is a Facebook Welcome Page?

First impressions are important. We all know that. A Welcome Page for your Facebook Page can give that first good impression. It takes your Facebook Page to the next level. It distinguishes your Facebook Page as, just that, a Facebook PAGE over a Profile Page. Rather than the look of the Wall, a Facebook Welcome Page gives a unique page view for the first time visitor—and all visitors who have not yet LIKED your page.

Are you a visual person? In order to see what I am talking about, look below or click on Rosie Cochran, Writer to see my Welcome Page. Do you see the difference compared to the regular profile page look?

Of course, if perchance you have already LIKED my page, you are currently staring at my Wall and wondering what I am talking about. By Facebook defaults, the Welcome Page is the first page shown until someone LIKES your page. Once they LIKE your page, your Wall becomes the opening page to them. Therefore, if you find yourself staring at my Wall, click on WELCOME below the Profile Picture in the left-hand column. This will take you too my Welcome Page. That being said, we should design our Welcome Page for the first time visitor.

Three Points to Include in Your Facebook Welcome Page:

1) Give a clear, concise message of who/what your business is. Don’t leave them guessing. Since I write, I have links to my books on my Welcome Page. Click HERE to see a great Welcome Page for the social media company Publicity Hound.

2) Encourage them to LIKE your page. Sometimes people just need to be asked!

3) Encourage them to come on in and visit for a while.

There are many paths to making a Facebook Page. After a bit of research, I chose to use the free version of Pagemodo. It includes various templates and was easy to use. Click on Pagemodo to read more. When you are ready to make your Welcome Page, click on the link called Get Started Now – Connect with Facebook located on the opening page of Pagemodo. When you’re done, send me the link to your Facebook Page so I can see your new creation!

  1. November 23, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Thank you Rosie, I just did one from Pagemodo. That is excellent advice, and I jumped at the chance. Tell me what you think, if you can: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Collette-Scott/214595141885266

    Thanks again 🙂

    Collette

    • November 23, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      Collette, I love it! It opened up and I was in awe! It’s great. Makes me want to redo mine! LOL!

      • November 23, 2011 at 4:34 pm

        Oh my, I was thinking the same thing, Rosie! I loved yours. I guess we can play with ours until we find just the right one, but I’m so glad you pointed this out. I’d never even considered it before. And Joseph, definitely keep us all posted – for sure!

        XOXO

  2. November 23, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Thanks for the headsup, Rosie, and for the demo, Collette! Both your welcome pages look awesome! I am going to try to do the same for my page as well! What a great community of generous, selfless authors we are part of!
    Joe Rinaldo

  1. June 20, 2011 at 5:33 pm
  2. June 24, 2011 at 6:39 am
  3. July 1, 2011 at 6:13 am

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

