Home > Facebook Page, Social Media > 4 Tips to Naming Your Facebook Page

4 Tips to Naming Your Facebook Page

Facebook logo

Image via Wikipedia (Public Domain)

Are you ready to name your Facebook Page? The following four tips should speed you on your way!

1) Get the Name Right While You Can!

Unlike naming my children, where I had but one chance to pull it off right, there was a bit more wiggle room in naming my Facebook Page. Facebook gives us the option of changing our Facebook Page Name until we have 25 people who have Liked our page. (At least that’s the cut-off number Facebook is using at the time I’m writing this. Check Facebook’s current policy to be sure!) Therefore, I recommend not marketing your Facebook Page extensively until you have it set up, running, and are comfortable with your name of choice. Dare I admit that Rosie Cochran, Writer was the third naming of my Facebook Page?

2) Your Name Is Your Brand VS. Facebook Page by Book Name

Speaking specifically to authors, the overwhelming consensus is that our names are our brands. Your name is your brand. My name is my brand. Forget cutesy company names. Our names are our brands.

I listened to the overwhelming consensus. I followed their advice. I created my Facebook Page as Rosie Cochran—and in blew the contradiction. Suddenly, some within the consensus group that agreed that my name is my brand were telling me that they made a Facebook Page for each book they wrote.  Under this new concept, instead of a Facebook Page called Rosie Cochran, I should have multiple Facebook Pages named after each of my books: BetrayedIdentity Revealed, and soon, A Murder Unseen.

What was I do to? I had but a few Likes left before I was cemented in forever as Rosie Cochran. The argument behind a page per book made a lot of sense. Their book titles were better known than their names. Good marketing said they should use what was best known, what could be the most easily found. If your book title is better known than your name, I would definitely advise using a Facebook Page per book.

Looking over the pros and cons, I chose to keep a Facebook Page using my name. Due to my personal situation, I have a larger audience that know my name than that know the names of my books. Your situation may be reversed. The other pro with using your name for your Facebook Page is only having one Facebook Page to maintain—and one for people to like and visit. You’ll have to decide for yourself.

3) Clearing the Confusion of Identical Names

With a Facebook Profile of Rosie Cochran and a Facebook Page called Rosie Cochran, confusion began to reign. And really, who likes confusion?

Here is an example of the confusion created:

When I was on my Facebook Page, I clicked on Edit Page, then Your Settings, and the instructions under Posting Preferences gave the following perplexing message: “Always comment and post on your page as Rosie Cochran, even when using Facebook as Rosie Cochran.”

Right. As clear as mud. As thick, murky mud. Which Rosie Cochran were they referring to? I found a solution that still allowed my name to be my brand, but that also cleared the murky waters, removing all confusion. I changed it to Rosie Cochran, Writer. This works perfect for me.

4) Customized Facebook Page URL

Earlier I mentioned that you can change the name of your Facebook Page until 25 people Liked your page. After you have 25 people who Like your page, you can get a customized URL. Your URL username does not have to match your Facebook Page Name. The new URL username cannot have spaces and can only contain alphanumeric characters (A-Z, 0-9) or a period (“.”).

My plan was to keep mine simple by just using my name—until I found out that I’m not one-of-a-kind, that RosieCochran was already taken. In the end, my Facebook Page is Rosie Cochran, Writer, my username is RosieCochranWriter and my Facebook Page URL is: http://www.facebook.com/RosieCochranWriter

Do you already have 25 people who have Liked your Facebook Page? Then it’s time to get yourself a personalized URL by clicking on the following link: http://www.facebook.com/username

WARNINGS:

(i) Once you have created your URL username you cannot change it! Be very careful in choosing your username and double-check that the spelling is correct.

(ii) The Username dialogue box has two parts:

1. The TOP BOX is for your regular personal Facebook Profile, the one with your name it—NOT your business name!

2. The BOTTOM BOX that reads, “Each Page can have a username,” is the one you’re after. This is where you name your Facebook Business Page. By clicking on the arrow on the drop down box next to PAGE NAME, you will be able to view and choose the page you want to name. As long as you have 25 LIKES accumulated, you will be given the option to check for availability of the name you desire to use. Remember Warning #1 though! Once you save it, it is yours forever!

Have fun making and naming your Facebook Page!

  1. June 13, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    Great info Rosie! Thanks for sharing. Here’s wishing you a good evening, and a stellar week. 😉

  2. June 14, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Good post. This will be very helpful to me in the future.

  3. June 17, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Thanks for your insight. I’m sure this will save me time in the future!

  1. June 16, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

