Home > Self-publishing > Which Cover Do I Choose?!

Which Cover Do I Choose?!

One of the advantages of self-publishing is having
total control over what your book cover looks like.

One of the disadvantages of self-publishing is the need
to design your own book cover when graphic design is not on your resume!

Below are two possibilities for the cover of my next book, A Murder Unseen.
I would love your opinion on which cover you prefer!

Choice A

Choice B

Categories: Self-publishing
  1. June 9, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    A say two mysteries to me…..so I prefer A for a sells Technic. My reaction to the worn paper relates to my internal pull- wanting to see or find knowledge that may be hidden while the ally activates the learned defense system- a caution of sorts. I’m a realist history buff- plus a natural psychologist. Another’s view may be different.
    GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR VENTURE….Jeremy E Hunkapiller

    • June 9, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      Thanks for your input, Jeremy. I loved hearing the why behind your choice. 🙂

  2. June 9, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I like the top one. It draws me in more than the bottom one but I don’t know that I can really explain why.

    • June 9, 2011 at 5:44 pm

      That it draws you in is a pretty good explanation all on it’s own!

  3. Karen Haslam
    June 9, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I like A because the picture looks more mysterious and grabs you because it looks like a murder scene would be there and you want to see (read) what’s happening. Also I like the angle of the title and the story line. It’s also attention getting. I would be more interested in reading that one. Good luck with it. 🙂

    • June 9, 2011 at 6:04 pm

      Thanks, Karen. Definitely want a cover that makes one want to read the book!

  4. June 9, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I like the top one aunty rosie. I think mainly because it blends the front cover and the back cover together a lot better than the bottom one does.

    • June 9, 2011 at 6:02 pm

      The photographer would be concerned about blending! 🙂

  5. Colleen Lennon
    June 9, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    Top one “A”

  6. June 9, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    Hi. I like the clean, simple lines of the bottom one. How many books have you written? I like a good mystery.

  7. June 9, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Sorry, I just noticed the links to your other books 🙂

  8. monica
    June 9, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Hi Rosie, It was fun to be included in the decision making process. Both are really great. I have looked a few times and then come back to try and decide again. I love the top one because I love the different angles and how the back and front seem to blend. It looks like most back streets in any modern day city. The only thing is if your story takes place in England or Scotland then I would choose B. Both are incredible Rosie, this was really hard to choose. I will read it no matter what the cover. I am glad you share your stories with us. <monica

    • June 9, 2011 at 10:04 pm

      Hi Monica, Thanks for your input! The story takes place in the States. In fact, the part that includes an alley takes place in New York. I have been told the bottom picture makes people think Europe—and you just backed that up!
      Rosie

  9. June 9, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    Rosie, hi. I like the top cover. it kinda fits the title, ” A Murder Unseen ” with a setting that’s kind of unseen, by the title, it looks and feels like it’s in New York or some other city,the other looks like it more from abroad, I didn’t know you were a writer?? I’ve always wanted to do that,,I use to be the story teller in my younger days, and now I kinda do it in cards and free spirit songs that I kinda write,,not published though..were can I get or see one of your other books they sound interesting…let me know…Esther…

    • June 9, 2011 at 11:34 pm

      Thanks, Esther. The first one does seem to be a better pick for a New York setting. And yes, I can’t deny that I write. You asked where you can get my books. My books are available through Amazon.com, but I sell them as well and you actually get a better price through me. If interested, let me know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

