Home > Marketing, Social Media > Promotional Strategies 101

Promotional Strategies 101

“The wise person learns from experience, the super wise person learns from the experience of others.” (Herbert Hoover)

I am on a journey. As a newbie to marketing and promoting my books, I have been given much advice by those with experience. As Herbert Hoover suggested, I’m trying to be super wise. I’m trying to learn from the experience of others. The following are my suggestions a few months into this learning process:

1) Join Facebook: Facebook is a great social media to keep in touch with your friends and keep them up-to-date, as well as networking beyond your immediate circle of friends. Most of you are probably already on Facebook.

2) Make a Facebook Page: Formerly called a Fan Page, and currently often referred to as a Business Page, a Facebook Page is a great promotional tool. It is an extension of your Facebook Profile. HINT: Facebook is, by definition, a social media. Likewise with your Facebook Page. Be social on your Facebook Page. Don’t just advertise. Check out my Facebook Page at Rosie Cochran, Writer. It’s still a work in progress, but it’s coming along! If you like it—or my blog here—please give me a thumbs up by clicking on the LIKE button!

3) Join LinkedIn: LinkedIn is a business social media. It’s great for networking. I would strongly recommend joining several of the groups (discussion boards) related to books and marketing. These groups are two-way streets. You can glean from the experience of others, but you can also share what you have learned in your own journey. They are a great place to connect with other writers.

3) Start a Blog: I wrote a post on this previously called Should Authors Blog? In that post I wrote, “Blogging helps to tone our craft, to reveal our writing style, and to give us credence as writers, as authors. Blogging opens doors to an audience we might otherwise not have encountered. On a practical level, blogging gives us a better author’s platform, which in turn aids in marketing. As writers, we need that platform. We need a voice that will be heard. Blogging can be that platform. Blogging can be that voice.” Yes, we most definitely need to be bloggers! Check out either WordPress or Blogger and start today.

4) Join Twitter: Join Twitter and start tweeting! Same hint as with the Facebook Page: Be social. Don’t just advertise. Interact with people. Tweet links to your blog posts. Tweet hints. Be a friend! I would love to have you follow me on Twitter. You can find me at @RosieCochran.

4) Join GoodReads: Who do we want to market to? Readers! GoodReads is full of readers. It’s an obvious choice! As an author, you’ll want to not just join, but set up an Author Profile.

5) Make a Book Trailer: Definitely a great idea. Definitely something I have yet to do!

6) Radio Interview: Hmm…. Will I ever get brave enough to breach this frontier? Keep following my blog to find out!

7) Book Signings: Another great idea that I’ll have to write about once I finally get around to doing it!

Like I said at the beginning, I am on a journey. We may all be at different stages of the journey, but we can all continue to learn from the experiences of others. We all have the choice to be super wise people!

  1. June 8, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Very good tips…I could use these!

    • June 8, 2011 at 8:24 am

      Thanks for the repost! Glad you found the tips helpful.

  1. June 8, 2011 at 7:40 am
  2. June 16, 2011 at 2:08 am

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

